The Passionate Attachment

America's entanglement with Israel

The Incredible Tale of Gwenyth Todd and the Naïve Neocons

with 40 comments

By Maidhc Ó Cathail
Special Report
Washington Report on Middle East Affairs
May 2013

Given the proliferation of crimes, both foreign and domestic, known to have been committed by the U.S. government in the aftermath of the September 11 attacks, there is an understandable willingness among large swathes of the public to believe almost anything told them by someone claiming to be blowing the whistle on an increasingly rogue “world’s policeman.” And, as a rule, the more persecution the whistleblower appears to suffer for exposing the global cop’s transgressions, the greater the desire to believe her story—no matter how far-fetched it might be.

WRMEA subscribers can continue reading here

Written by Maidhc Ó Cathail

April 13, 2013 at 3:26 am

Posted in Uncategorized

40 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Would really like to read this but can’t subscribe unfortunately.
    Any chance this will be published here at a later date?

    robert_jonez

    April 14, 2013 at 2:37 am

  2. I hope to publish it here very soon…

    Maidhc Ó Cathail

    April 14, 2013 at 3:59 am

  3. I cannot wait! Would you like to ask me anything about myself or my experiences before you publish a piece on me? If so, do not hesitate to contact me. Of not, that is fine too, but I am not used to journalists who do not try to ask questions directly if possible, of the subjects of their articles. Just for the record, I am always available to answer questions.

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 14, 2013 at 10:18 am

  4. I too look forward to reading your latest piece on Ms Todd, once it becomes available. I read your previous story with some amazement. I am very well acquainted with Ms. Todd’s situation, having witnessed it first hand and then followed it closely for some years. Your first attack on Ms. Todd was mystifying in vitriol , all the more so because it is apparent you have neither met nor interviewed her. This strikes me as the height of irresponsible journalism, and I hope this new piece is not hatchet job on her, uninformed by the facts of the case. Such an approach is slanderous and possibly dangerous to Ms. Todd. Inciting hatred is a crime, and I can only hope that your latest piece conforms more to the ethics of honest journalism, rather than attack mongering.

    George T. Summerfield

    April 14, 2013 at 1:52 pm

  5. I don’t know the reason GT’s security clearance was revoked, but I do know that she comes from a distinguished USA family, whereas neocons and their ilk have as a common denominator their arrivisme. furthermore it would only seem fair for an unbiased reporter to speak with the subject of these very serious allegations, so it looks to me like Maidhc is not doing his reputation any favors with this crusade against GT

    maoilriain

    April 14, 2013 at 10:13 pm

  6. Thank you for those kind words. I am not sure what Maidhc’s objective is but he certainly seems ardent. Also, just for the record, my SCI access was never officially revoked: it was “suspended” temporarily and locally in an initially secret letter prepared by Security Officer Commander Lynn Chow, signed by Chief of Staff Joseph Sensi at the obvious direction of VADM Kevin Cosgriff. A FOIA search shows that my clearance was never revoked. The goal of that secret letter, signed and dated on the very day VADM Cosgriff and CDR Lynn Chow sent me out on what I later discovered was an illegal mission, was to produce it after I had been arrested or killed to make it look as if I was an angry employee seeking vengeance. When I was neither arrested nor killed, they tried to hide the letter. It took the intervention of senior US Navy officials to even secure a copy of the letter, addressed to me but delivered almost three months after the fact to my house in Australia. So you can rest assured, my clearance was never revoked. I was briefly fired on December 23 2007, until Cosgriff realized that being fired would give me grounds to demand an investigation, thus the termination of my contract was hastily revoked and retroactively reinstated within days, thus denying me the option of demanding an explanation. And the Navy lawyer pointedly told me that at the time, saying that with my SCI access (not my Top Secret, which was never suspended) clearance merely suspended locally, and my contract retroactively reinstated, I would be unable to have the incident investigated. Rather extreme measures they went to to try to cover their tracks after Dec 13 2007…

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 15, 2013 at 1:16 am

  7. I finally read the article. Wow Maidhc, you are certainly obsessed with me. Yet too frightened to speak to me directly. I cannot begin to fathom the driving force behind your misplaced and frankly slanderous assertions. I could speculate but I do not want to sink to your level. The trouble is, however, that what you are doing here is inciting hatred and possibly putting me and my family in danger. You are truly ignorant when it comes to me and my experiences, but that is no surprise since you have never met, spoken to or even tried to contact me in any way. I do not mind your insane tirades and speculation about me in and of themselves, but you may have followers who would believe your insinuations about me and might try to harm me and my family. I think you need to take a deep breath, try to relax, look up the basic ethical standards expected of journalists in presenting a balanced story (especially when you could easily interview me yourself but you have chosen not to), and realize that his is not a silly game of one upsmanship over who knows more about the role of the US Navy in the Gulf. There are lives at stake here, Maidhc, not merely my own, and you are possibly endangering innocent people around me. That, my dear, is a crime in most jurisdictions. You need to start focusing on behaving like a serious, responsible and ethical journalist or get out of the business altogether before your rage and ranting cause injury to your target and those around me.

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 15, 2013 at 4:43 am

  8. This article is the absolute worst type of journalism — an irresponsible linking of half- truths to produce a diatribe that is both contrary to fact, to logic, to Ms todd’s character, bearing no relation to the reality of events as they unfolded during her tenure at NAVCENT.

    George T. summerfield

    April 15, 2013 at 6:40 am

  9. Thank you George. I don’t get the impression that the truth is what Maidhc is after. I appear to have done the equivalent of peeing in his punch bowl by my actions to try to prevent an even more disastrous war in the region. You did witness part of it, so thanks for speaking up, but I suspect Maidhc has an agenda other than standing up to Israeli hawks. He also has what seems to be a man-crush on Fox Fallon, so perhaps there is an emotional link there somewhere. I don’t know, I am more surprised that this WRMEA organization would publish this drivel because I would have thought they would be standing up to bullying in the region, but perhaps they are bankrolled by Israeli hawks. All very puzzling. No wonder the region is in such a mess. With friends like Maidhc, the Palestinians appear to have no need for enemies!

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 15, 2013 at 6:57 am

  10. WRMEA, far from being bankrolled by Israeli hawks, are funded by the retirement pensions of honorable retired FSOs indignant about US policy in the region. my subscription has lapsed, but personally I cannot think of an organization more worthy of support than WRMEA and AET. I have not seen the article, but if it is comparable to what Maidhc has written here, I cannot understand how it got into WRMEA.

    maoilriain

    April 15, 2013 at 7:41 am

  11. Me neither, and my WRMEA membership is current to boot! So what is going on here? Do read the rest of the article—it goes on in a frenzied diatribe ending in a quote from Fox Fallon: “B.S”. Top notch journalism!

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 15, 2013 at 8:30 am

  12. As any objective reader can see, Gwenyth Todd had ample opportunity to respond to my original blog post. Todd’s rambling, evasive comments on that thread belie her claims of transparency above.

    Maidhc Ó Cathail

    April 15, 2013 at 8:55 am

  13. Maidhc, you are so nutty it is actually making me laugh, (while I still worry that if your followers are as nutty as you are that I may need to find bodyguards, thanks to your absurd allegations and insinuations). What on earth is wrong with you? On a serious note, you really should be more careful of what you write about people when lives are at stake. WRMEA will also be up the creek if you succeed in your quest to convince everyone that I am some sort of Israeli plant who is trying to trick the world. Even there though, I can’t figure out what you think I stand to gain? I mean, to what end? Unlike you, I only went public kicking and screaming after the FBI began harassing me in Australia and my lawyers told me that openness and honesty were my best chance of survival. This is not a profession to me and I have never taken a penny in exchange for my various interviews. You, on the other hand, are desperate for attention, with your blogs and your incendiary and slanderous articles and I strongly suspect you profit from it financially. Whatever the case, I hope you do not call yourself a journalist, because this whole thing is not just rubbish but poorly researched, biased and potentially libelous rubbish at that. It belongs in Mad Magazine.

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 15, 2013 at 9:24 am

  14. The article is now accessible to the public. It can be read either on WRMEA’s website or my own website.

    Maidhc Ó Cathail

    April 15, 2013 at 9:45 am

  15. Methinks the lady doth protest too much. In fact, I can also attest to Maidhc’s rather long dialogue with very Gwyneth on this matter. Her claim that he has never…”spoken to or even tried to contact me in any way” is patently false. For shame Gwyneth, how can you forget his lengthy email colloquy with you 2 months ago, or are you just suffering from memory loss?

    Lorraine

    April 15, 2013 at 6:05 pm

  16. Who could forget that? And read the last part of that exchange, where his own supporters told him o back off. I am glad Maidhc floats your boat and thank you for calling me a lady. I am not sure that others would be so polite. As for the protest part, darn tootin’ right. I despise false accusations, whether leveled against me or anyone else. Although more importantly, I am truly curious as to why Maidhc is so obsessed with me? To my knowledge, we have never had any contact, other than the weird exchange after his initial salvo. I hope your passionate attachment to Mike brings you great pleasure.

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 16, 2013 at 12:17 am

  17. I have known Ms. Todd professionally and personally for many years and she IS a patriot. She has stood up for justice for the families of the Lockerbie Scottland disaster (and spoke up against government officials who wanted to discredit the American families so they could lift sanctions against Libya), was instrumental in imposing the no-fly zone against Saddam Hussein so the Kurdish people would not continue to face genocide, instrumental in imposing sanctions again Iraq, she has openly spoken out against the “friendly fire” assertion on the death of Pat Tillman (he was shot at close range in the head which is not friendly fire), she helped expose a senior AIPAC spy by wearing a wire tap for the FBI, and she spoke out against Cosgriff’s plan to create havoc with Iran, and possibly a war with Iran. Responsible journalists seek to have an interview with people they are writing their story about. I do not see evidence of that in this article. You can’t simply say, “…Gwenyth Todd had ample opportunity to respond to my original blog post.” That is not journalism, but a biased and slanderous opinion. Mr. Maidhc Ó Cathail, I strongly encourage you to save your reputation and honor by actually interviewing the subject you vehemently attempt at scathing. You might actually learn that while there are multiple perspectives to any given phenomenon, the good in people always shines through, as is the case with Ms. Todd. She is one of the most honorable people I have ever met. And I would encourage you to interview those of us who know her personally and have observed her good deeds over the decades.

    Sage

    April 16, 2013 at 7:22 pm

  18. I have just reread your article, Maidhc, to see if there is anything I might have missed the first time that might give the very interesting and not at all retiring Ms. Todd valid cause to seek legal help, There isn’t. It may be that she was not as familiar with the Oded Yinon piece as she should have been, but there is no excuse for her not being aware of the Clean Break document of which her friend, Perle, was one of the key authors, as he was, not coincidentally, of the US war on Iraq and she certainly must have been aware that the founders and signatories of PNAC, the overwhelming majority of whom were Jewish with hard-line Likud credentials, had simply adopted and modified the Clean Break to to make it more sellable to the DC beltway and the White House. Whereas Clinton only went as far as bombing Baghdad, Bush would act on their plans thinking they were his own, the legacy of which we saw played out in Boston yesterday.

    Jeff Blankfort

    April 17, 2013 at 1:54 am

  19. I hate to disappoint, but I do not have the faintest idea about any of these documents. You clearly are working of second and third hand speculation and then turning into hate-filled accusations against me. That is a crime, because I have never claimed to know anything about this drivel. I simply recounted my experience to the Washington Post and Press TV, at their request, without any sort of remuneration, and Maidhc grabbed it like a football and took of down the field shouting accusations and disc ribbing documents and things about which I have never claimed to know anything and about which I would happily take a polygraph to confirm my ignorance. Why are you attacking me? Attack the people who write about me if you really need to get rid of pent up rage, but I can’t see what good that will do. Legally, however, you are making accusations and stirring up hatred against me which could put my life in further danger. That is a crime, libelous or slanderous at best, hate mongering and inciting violence at worst. If I ever have the hubris to start a blog and make grandiose judgments like Maidhc does, THEN you can attack me. But these attacks from Maidhc are targeted directly at me, not the people who published articles or interviews with me, and they are inciting hatred, point blank. This is truly the lowest form of journalism I have ever seen and I lived in Syria and Benin, where I cannot even begin to describe the depths to which the government run press would sink. Yet they were far less sloppy and abusive than this site. You are playing with people’s lives by this sort of relentlless assault, endangering me and my family with your absurd allegations. Have you absolutely no decency? Actually, I think that question has already been answered.

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 17, 2013 at 3:55 am

  20. One last note Maidhc. When WaPo tried to interview Fallon, they told me that they were informed Fallon was was overseas on business in..wait for it….Tel Aviv! I wonder if he was advancing the cause of the Palestinians? Gosh, you should interview him about how he was defending the rights of those Arabs who suffer because of Israeli policies! Nthat would be great journalism! His email, which I was told was sent by Fallon while in Israel, really did sum up your crusade against me with those poignant letters “B.S.” I just wanted to make sure you too are disclosing everything to your readers about the possibly passionate attachment of the very man you admire so much that you feature his photo on your blog trashing me.

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 17, 2013 at 9:30 am

  21. Sorry, Gwenyth, but I am unable to find anything resembling hate or hatred emanating from Maidhc or from my comment, and the notion that his criticism of you somehow puts your life in jeopardy is ludicrous as is the idea that a journalist is required to personally interview the subject of his or her criticism. One judges a person on his or her public record and whether that judgment is valid is up to the reader to determine.

    As for those two documents of which you claim to have no knowledge, I can understand you not having read or heard of Oded Yinon’s article, Israel’s Strategy for the 80s,” because I suspect that, unfortunately, it is probably not part of the reading material provided US government employees who serve in the region, but not to be aware of the Clean Break document co-authored by Perle, Feith, and the Wurmsers, is not or should not be acceptable on the part of someone who has purportedly served the US in the Middle East and claims to be an expert on the region. Particularly, since you admit to your friendship with Richard Perle, I would expect you to be curious to know something about your new acquaintance.. Were you aware of the Project for a New American Century (PNAC). Are you familiar with the Foreign Policy Initiative or the Foundation for Defense of Democracies, its successors? Just asking?

    Jeff Blankfort

    April 18, 2013 at 1:06 am

  22. My “friendship” withRichard Perle? What are you smoking? If you are not in Washington State or Colrado, I suspect it is illegal, And if this is howvMaidhc and his buddies treat people in a caring manner, let me you in on a secret: it is called hate in the civilised world. So, O Great White Hope for the Palestinians, what was Fallin doing in Tel Aviv while denying madly anything to do with furthering Israel’s hawks? You are perfectly matched with Maidhc. I just pity those upon whom you bestow your support if you see no hate or potential incitement to violence in Maidhc’s article. Now go back to your love feast while I actually get things done, there’s a good Blank Fort. You are being terribly tiresome and are blathering on about that which you know less than nothing.

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 18, 2013 at 3:07 am

  23. Now, just a minute to all would-be Gwenyth detractors. I was in Bahrain. I worked with her. I know what happened. Ms Todd’s story is accurate. Also, I have never met a person with greater moral courage, nor one more knowledgeable about this region. To those priveleged to work with her, and for the two Admiral’s who preceeded Kevin Cosgriff, she was an invaluable resource for the understanding of events in the region. She served her country ably and well, including in the prevention of potentially very serious incidents that could have led to hostilities, the scope of which could not be calculated. The slurs and half-truths (if they deserve that much credit) leveled at her in this article have no place any anything resembling reputable journalism.

    George T. Summerfield

    April 18, 2013 at 9:12 am

  24. Thanks again George, but these guys have an agenda that appears to have nothing to do with helping Palestinians or preventing further war in the Gulf. The author appears to have a man-crush on ADM Fallon and his legal adviser is just plain nutty. These are not people who make a difference beyond occasional trips for publicity and obnoxious, biased, poorly-researched articles designed to puff their heroes. The fact that they refuse to address why Fallon was apparently in Israel at the very moment the Washington Post was trying to get him to comment says a lot, yet they ignore it, championing Fallon while claiming to care about hawkish Israeli policies and mentioning documents that I had neither the inclination nor time to read by a bunch of neocons and Israelis they don’t like. As you know, we were actually in the trenches while these guys sought to deconstruct articles. ‘Nuff said. As one of our favorite Generals likes to say “You can’t fix stupid!”

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 18, 2013 at 10:35 am

  25. With each comment, you convince me even further that Maidhc was on target. One of your admirers who I didn’t know sent me an email last year, suggesting that I interview you for my radio program. He wrote essentially a summary of what you claim to be your experience and I asked him for your contact info to which he never replied. I guess I lucked out there. That you “had neither the inclination nor time to read [documents]by a bunch of neocons and Israelis they don’t like” (and by the way of phrasing it, it seems that that you do), makes that hole you dug for yourself quite a bit deeper. These guys, Perle, Feith, and Wurmser, along with their pal, Wolfowitz, were the ones who orchestrated the war in Iraq, as Colin Powell would later describe them as “the JINSA crowd. You do know about JINSA, I hope. PNAC?

    Jeff Blankfort

    April 18, 2013 at 6:48 pm

  26. Blank Fort you are indeed worthy of your name. Clueless yet armored. Keep up your hysterical attacks if it helps you feel good from behind your walls that define your name. Oh, and did you find out why Fallon was in Tel Aviv?

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 18, 2013 at 9:36 pm

  27. I don’t like to get Freudian, Ms. Todd, but if anyone is getting hysterical in this exchange, it is you. What is hysterical about my inquiring whether or not you are familiar with PNAC and JINSA? It’s a question I’ve asked individuals and groups (on speaking engagements) without anyone going nuts.

    You remind me of someone who finding herself (or himself) on the losing an end of a conversation and with uncontainable frustration, tells her conversational partner to stop shouting when, as in this instance, she is the one doing, metaphorically, doing the shouting. Frankly, I wonder why you have elected to respond and as for your St. George, the would-be dragon slayer, I wonder, if he rides up once again to save a damsel in obvious distress, he might tell us if HE is familiar with the Clean Break, PNAC and JINSA?

    Jeff Blankfort

    April 19, 2013 at 1:27 am

  28. Darling Blank, What was Fallon doing in Tel Aviv. And yes, I completely agree with you, I am a desperate, hysterical Freudian nightmare an obviously a fraud who has managed to trick news outlets around the world into believing my tale (although not for money, which makes me really stupid!). We have now established that.

    Now, will you show that you, unlike me apparently, know a whole lot about this by telling your fans what Fallon was doing in Tel Aviv. I bow to you, O Great White Hope of the Palestinians and your associate Maidhc. Please Sirs, tell the ignorant masses what Fallon was doing in Israel while the article about me was being prepared?

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 19, 2013 at 2:38 am

  29. My dear Gwenyth, I am not privy to what Admiral Fallon was doing in Tel Aviv and your insisting that I should know about it I find bewildering since I am not in the loop and have no clearance of any sort. I was, rather, questioning your bona fides as a Middle East expert, a subject you seem to be avoiding (and understandably so, it appears. Believe me, you have my sympathies.

    Jeff Blankfort

    April 19, 2013 at 3:16 am

  30. I have never claimed to be a Middle East expert. That is why I don’t have a blog or a radio show or any other self-promoting outlet to the masses. Apparently some other people consider me to be an expert, but I do not consider myself to be an expert at anything. That would require a level of hubris that is reserved to others. Maidhc wrote that Admiral Fallon’s email should be taken seriously when he wrote that the story about me, not written by me, was “B.S.”. Yet he seemingly did not do any research into whether Fallon might, in fact, be involved with the Israeli hawks. In fact, he insinuated the opposite. You then jumped in and agreed with Maidhc, saying that Maidhc was not saying anything biased. As it turns out, neither of you seems to know what Fallon was and is up to, yet attacking me while lionizing Fallon is something Maidhc has done, with your support. Again, I have never written a blog or an article about my story. I have answered questions from various interested parties. Thus in attacking me, instead of the authors and interviewers, you are going after me in a way that could endanger me. That, my dear Blank, is not appropriate and may well rise to the level of inciting hatred and slander.

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 19, 2013 at 3:45 am

  31. If someone in Washington did not consider you an expert on the ME, on what basis were you hired? In other words, what did you bring to the job that landed you in Bahrain? Are you fluent in Arabic?

    As for Fallon, he had, at least, publicly, made it clear that he was oppose to a US war on Iran, a position that was consistent with that of the Pentagon and the US intelligence agencies, as far as I can determine, who have been opposed to launching an attack on Iran which is probably why there has not been one, yet, despite the best efforts of the neocons and the Jewish establishment to have Washington sacrifice some more American blood and treasure on Israel’s behalf. You have asked what Fallon was doing in Tel Aviv as if is presence there was suspicious. In case you haven’t noticed, Tel Aviv is a regular stop for all the top brass in the military services in recognition of Israel’s political power in the US as well as its recognition of the mental instability of Israel’s government at its highest levels, something, I might add, that has been pointed out by former Israeli military and intelligence officials.

    Jeff Blankfort

    April 20, 2013 at 1:35 am

  32. Gee, I don’t know why people seem to want to interview me. I do know that you seem to know even less than I do and you shoot from the hip. I ind your ilk to be dangerous because you expound on the radio and elsewhere in a matter that incites hatred. Enough said to you. Talk to those who interview me if you want your questions answered. And stop attacking someone you do not know.

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 20, 2013 at 1:42 am

  33. Disinclination to answer a straight, unambiguous question noted as well as fallback on accusation of spreading “hate.” I do expound on the radio but I use facts and figures to make my points–I have to when taking on the Zionist establishment– and I’ve interviewed a number of genuinely knowledgeable people around the Middle East whose qualifications are not hard to find . I’m not really attacking you, I am just curious about your background and how you came to be an national security adviser to the fleet in Bahrain. I guess I’ll have to wait for your memoirs.

    Jeff Blankfort

    April 20, 2013 at 4:16 am

  34. Don’t hold your breath on the memoirs. Self-promotion has never been my gig. I will leave that to you and others while I live my life as quietly as possible, except when dodging attacks from FBI agents, angry journalists and whomever keeps doing things like leaving dead venomous snakes on my doormat and slashing my tyres. In all likelihood, someone will write something else about me or film me and hopefully that will answer some of your lingering questions. In the meantime, if you really think you can help break the stranglehold of Israeli hawks on US policies, I wish you every success. I am serious about that.

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 20, 2013 at 9:21 am

  35. So Gwenyth hadn’t heard of the PNAC. Is that really, along with the other nit-picking, enough to discredit her and prove she is some sort of enemy infiltrator? People can arrive at the same conclusions by different routes. I, like Blankfort and Maidhc, picked up on the israelist agenda from the outside looking in and the PNAC came pretty early in my self-education. But Gwenyth appears to have learned of the problem with israelist power in the United States from the inside looking out so her path was quite different to most of ours and it is very possible that the PNAC simply wasn’t part of it. PNAC is not an article of faith, a prequisite, to be an opponent of zionist power in the USA.

    I think Maidhc and Blankfort are laying down some serious friendly fire here against Gwyneth who seems like a genuine and credible person. Can you really villify Ms. Todd for her association with Richard Perle and than cite Admiral Fallon as a character witness? How many dubious people – israelist and others – does a guy have to associate with to become an admiral and a player in Washington?

    Anyway, thank you Ms. Todd for doing what you could to oppose the war-mongers and Israelists when you were over in Bahrain with the 5th Fleet.

    Munroe

    April 21, 2013 at 6:56 am

  36. Thank you Munroe. I think that Maidhc and Blankfort most likely have the best intentions at heart. My situation is atypical and appears to have aroused serious doubt. I certainly knew about JINSA, but not PNAC and Richard Perle asked me to call to come work with Paul Wolfowitz to set the stage or regime change in Iraq in January 2001. I never called him, even though he gave me his card, and when I did try to alert friends in the media and government, they told me that there was no conceivable way we could sell an invasion of Iraq to the US public. With the AIPAC thing, it became even more frightening when the FBI told me I was their only useful source, after having previously implied that other US itizens were helping them investigate AIPAC’s activities. I was panicked and went straight to meet with a journalist friend to ensure that if I suddenly disappeared, he would have the whole story. But while he checked ino theAIPAC thing and was able to substantiate it, eve he was in denial that the Iraq war was means to an end Ina neocon plan to enact regime change in Iran. It was such an unimagibale and unpalatable truth that no one would believe me. That is why, when everything went pear-shaped in Iraq, suddenly there were senior military officials who wanted to hear from me what I thought would happen next. They realized that somehow I did know something that others did not seem to grasp. So I agreed to go out and provide my opinion, when asked, and serve as a private adviser, but I made clear that my information came more from my personal experience and speaking with locals and foreigners at all levels over the course of my entire life, not from my undergraduate degree in Near Eastern Studies at UC Berkeley (where I was at warded the Department’s Top Student Award and invited to join Phi Beta Kappa) nor from my graduate studies at Georgetown University in Arab Studies and Arabic (for which I received a full merit-based scholarship. I read voraciously but I find that the things other people apparently consider critical, like this PNAC document of which I had never consciously heard, or these other shadowy figures and documents do not work well for me when an,young the facts as I experience them. If that disqualifies me as an expert, that is fine because I really do not consider myself to bevan expert. I have just seen way too much both in and out of government because I actually like most people and try to be straight with everyone, and I have no agenda beyond trying to prevent unnecessary loss of life. I think Maidhc and Blanfort probably want the same thing I do, but my background and modes operandi is simply too unusual to trust. And when my family and I are really being threatened by pro-Israeli hawks and thus I lash out when loggers and radio show hosts go after me too when I thought we were on the same side. But then again, my experience is so unusual that I suppose I cannot really lme them for wanting to discredit me. As long as we avoid war and my family is safe, I can tolerate the attacks. And I do not hold grudges, so there is always tomorrow to work together if it will help!

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 21, 2013 at 11:45 am

  37. Well, that bg is appreciated. As for watching out for loggers and radio hosts, I would assume that loggers, with chain saws are the ones to be avoided, but another radio host who had previously interviewed me, Kevin Barrett (and later you), allowed Gordon Duff, your editor at VT, to tell his listeners that I was “a spokesperson for Israel,” after I had emailed Barrett that Duff’s statement that Rupert Murdoch was an Israeli citizen and an orthodox Jew was pure BS, and then Duff, one of the more devious of the net’s disinformation agents, went on to say that the heads of MI5 and MI6 were both Jewish (and friends of his) and that one of them regularly attended orthodox Jewish services with Murdoch every Sunday, a statement Barrett didn’t challenge but no doubt would come as a surprise to all three of them since there is no evidence that either intelligence head in the UK is Jewish nor that Murdoch lives in London, let alone Jewish.

    Duff seems to have it in for Australians, at least, Australian males. Even before the first Wikileak cable was released, he accused Wikileaks of being a Mossad operation (to burnish his anti-Zio credentials) and that Assange was not only a “serial rapist” but that he had had a homosexual relationship with Pvt. Bradley Manning (by telepathy, I guess, because the two men had never met).

    Duff, as could be expected, did not allow by rebuttal to that to appear on his blog and that was before his appearance on Barrett’s program. It is your association with Duff and VT which, I believe, was one of the factors that raised Maidhc’s antennas as it raised mine.

    Jeff Blankfort

    April 21, 2013 at 8:19 pm

  38. Yes there is a very annoying autocorrect on this iPad Jeff. I am sorry you felt the need to home in on the typos to make light of a heartfelt comment on my part. Still, I stand by what I intended to say and I hope that others will get past the quips and keep plugging away towards a common goal. There will likely be more absurd autocorrects in this post too.

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 22, 2013 at 12:20 am

  39. It looks like Maidhc and Jeff have a feud going on with the crackpots over at Veterans Today and Gwenyth is being found guilty by association with those guys. The hostility towards her is making more sense now but it is still totally unjustified.

    Munroe

    April 23, 2013 at 5:36 am

  40. I do not pretend to agree fully with anyone on these issues. There is a lot of emotion involved and I see groups setting up camps where “you’re either with us 100% or against us”. The casualty in the midst of all this seems to be the cause itself. I fully support anyone who appears to be trying to help, even if I do not necessarily agree with them on the details (“that middle stuff”). I know what I witnessed and that is what I talk about, when asked. For example, I cannot stand the Turkish President or Prime Minister because they have done some horrific thing that have hurt people I like and love, but I am very pleased that Erdogan is planning to visit the occupied territories, in spite of IS threats and pleas that he avoid that part of his trip. I think it is easy to wind up in a feud of accusations and judgments among people who share a common goal, it is partly why the Arabs have never been able to organize themselves to stand up to Israel, and it saddens me to see it happening among us. But I will keep plugging along…

    Gwenyth Todd

    April 23, 2013 at 6:39 am


Leave a Reply

